Welcome to the official site of the Association of Licensed Tourist Guides

The Association of Licensed Tourist Guides has 1500 members that work all over Greece, undertaking programs and visits for Schools, Educational Institutions, Travel Agencies, various Organizations and individual visitors. Our members accommodate the needs for guiding in 28 different languages (Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Bulgarian, Chinese, Croatian, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, Flemish, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovakian, Slovenian, Swedish, Czech, Turkish and Spanish) and in their majority (58%) they are also University graduates. They can thus satisfy the demands of a specialized audience with a profound knowledge in any of the following subjects:  architecture, geology, mathematics, physics, agriculture, history of art, archeology, education, philosophy, religion etc.

Our site includes information:

  • for our associates in tourism that may be searching for a licensed tourist guide
  • for professional tourist guides wishing to be informed about the news of our Union and recent developments in tourism
  • for all those who might be interested in the tourist guide's profession and wish to obtain information about tourist guides' education and training


The Association of Licensed Tourist Guides was acknowledged in 1957 through a decision of the Court of First Instance at Athens under the appellation "Greek Professional Tourist Guides' Association". This changed into "Licensed Tourist Guides' Union" after a decision of the General Assembly of the members of the Union in June 1962, which also changed the Statutes. The modifications were approved through a decision of the Court of First Instance at Athens that same year.

The seat of the Union is at Athens and its purpose is the safeguarding and advancement of the labor, economic, and insurance interests of its members as well as the promotion of the touristic and cultural development of the country.

Executive Board

As the result of the elections (11th December 2018) the composition of the executive board is the following:

President: Kriton-Isidoros Piperas
Vice-president: Eleni Soulioti
Secretary: Aggeliki Charokopou
Deputy Secretary: Eleni Premeti
Treasurer: Sophia Theona
Evdokia Karachaliou
Andreas Lazaridis
Maria Oikonomopoulou
Georgia Samara


Guide Search Guide Search
Copyright 2013 Association of Licensed Tourist Guides